Louws taps WTA to help facilitate pay for county officials

Whatcom Transportation Authority will facilitate Whatcom County’s Commission on Salaries for Elected Officials, according to an announcement from the office of County Executive Jack Louws.

The agreement between WTA and the county was made to keep the 10-member commission independent of other elected offices in Whatcom’s government. WTA’s human resources director, Andy Rowlson, will be the agency’s representative on the commission, which will next meet at 4 p.m. on Thursday, Jan. 24, at WTA’s administrative offices, 4111 Bakerview Spur in Bellingham.

The commission is charged with setting the salaries of elected county government officials, including County Council members,  the executive, the assessor, the auditor, the prosecuting attorney, the sheriff and the treasurer. The first schedule of salaries is due to the county council by May 1, 2013, and then again by May 1 every two years.

Under a county ordinance, six of the 10 commission members were selected by lot by the county auditor from registered voters. Of these six, two were selected from each of the three County Council districts. They include: Thom Fischer and Patricia Rose (District 1), Cary Gustafson and George Plucinski (District 2), and Paul Halladin and Kathy Richardson (District 3).

The other four members were selected by County Executive Louws, following the direction of the county ordinance. They include: Wendy Eickmeyer, Kara Turner, Robert Carmichael and Allan Jensen. All 10 members were confirmed by County Council.

Commission members will each serve two-year terms. More information is available online (clicking link will download PDF) from the Whatcom County Council.

Tags: , , ,

Related Stories