McAuley selected as Port Commission president for 2014

Port of Bellingham Commissioner Michael McAuley has been picked to serve as the commission’s president for 2014.

McAuley was selected by a vote of the three-member port commission during its first meeting of the year Jan. 7. Commissioner Dan Robbins was selected to be vice president, and Commissioner Jim Jorgensen was picked for secretary.

Both McAuley and Robbins took their oaths of office Jan. 7, as they begin four-year terms on the commission. McAuley starts his second consecutive term on the commission; Robbins begins his first year on the board.

The commission also determined the representatives who will serve on local boards for 2014:

– Whatcom Council of Governments: Jorgensen, Alternate: McAuley
– Washington Public Ports Association: McAuley, Alternate: Robbins
– Whatcom County Economic Development Investment Program Committee: McAuley, Alternate: Robbins
– Western Crossing (A shared Port and Western Washington University Development Entity): Robbins, Alternate: Jorgensen

Commissioners approved continuing the appointment of port staff members Tamara Sobjack as auditor, and Valier Schorr as deputy auditor. In accordance with state law, these appointments are made annually. A contract continuation with Chmelik, Sitkin & Davis to serve as the port’s general legal counsel was also approved.

The next commissioners meeting will be at 3 p.m. on Tuesday, Jan. 21, in the port’s Harbor Center Conference Room, 1801 Roeder Ave. in Bellingham. Agendas are posted online at, usually several days in advance of meetings.


Related Stories